Rob Clutton and Tony Malaby

New album featuring New York saxophonist Tony Malaby. Released on 2 Dec 2019.

Solo Bass

Dubious Pleasures is Rob Clutton’s solo debut on Rat-drifting.  It's a solo string bass album and also a collection of nine very distinct compositions.

“The real challenge is to create and sustain musical interest, and that Clutton does admirably, crafting a series of pieces that are as different in mood and content as they are in techniques.” –Stuart Broomer, Musicworks

Read more at the Rat-Drifting website.
“The second solo recording for Toronto’s Rat-Drifting label from Rob Clutton, a phenomenal bassist and a deeply engrossing performer, offers new insights into the state of the art of double bass playing. Classically trained, a respected jazz player and world-class improviser, Clutton has an original and heartfelt take on music and performance. In a word, deep.” - Gordon Allen, The Mirror

Read more at the Rat-Drifting website.

The Cluttertones

The Cluttertones are Lina Allemano (trumpet), Rob Clutton (bass, composition), Ryan Driver (human voice, analogue synth, piano), and Tim Posgate (banjo, guitar). The group has been playing together for nearly a decade, and each of the members have long associations with the others in various projects. This music plays at the edges between known/unknown, concrete/abstract, solo/group, expression/process. Drawing from a broad range of experience—which includes jazz, European classical music, electronica, improvisation, folk, singer-songwriter, experimental—the Cluttertones play what some have called “otherworldly chamber music.”
Stacks Image 204499
“The Cluttertones trade in a sort of weirdness and beauty you’re very unlikely to have encountered before—even if you’re familiar with its constituents’ back catalogues. Ordinary Joy feels elusive and intangible at first, leaving the listener groping for syntax. One’s second listen, however, yields an impression of warm familiarity, albeit with no shortage of tangles and kinks.” - Nick Storring, Musicworks

The Rob Clutton Trio

The Rob Clutton Trio is Karen Ng (saxophone), Rob Clutton (bass), and Nick Fraser (drums). They are currently working on their debut album, which will be released in the winter of 2020.
Stacks Image 204379
  1. Cloak
  2. Hounds
  3. Strata

Your web browser does not support HTML5 audio. Please update to a newer web browser.

The Rob Clutton Band

“A mix of composition and improvisation, meditative moods and fractal bursts worthy of its Gertrude Stein inspiration (“Act so that  there is no use in a centre”), this is at once document, signpost and fossil.” – Carl Wilson, Globe And Mail
“There are no tunes explicitly about cattle here, but much of Holstein Dream Pageant is as wide-open as a country field. There's an intriguing looseness to the jazz-based music Toronto bassist Clutton and his ensemble make, with each tune evolving as it grows.” Matt Galloway, Now Magazine